President’s Club
  • Aug 5, 2021
    Award watch list season continues here on Tuesday as it is time for the Davey O’Brien Award to single out the 35 college quarterbacks on its radar for the annual award that goes to the nation’s top quarterback.

    It should come as little surprise that Ohio State’s CJ Stroud makes the cut, one of five signal callers from the Big Ten to make this initial list. The SEC leads all conferences with seven quarterbacks on the list while the B1G is tied with the ACC and Pac-12.

    Stroud was a finalist for the award in 2021 but ultimately lost to Bryce Young of Alabama, who would also go on to win the 2021 Heisman Trophy. Both quarterbacks will figure in prominently in many of the major awards for the upcoming 2022 season.

    Ohio State has only had one winner of the award, Troy Smith took home the hardware during his 2006 Heisman Trophy season. This award has been focused on quarterbacks since the 1981 season after a short four-year run of just being a regional MVP for players out of the...

    Continue reading...


    Buckeye Premium

    Become a Buckeye Scoop Premium member to access our private message board.

    Go Premium