Three Buckeyes Named To Maxwell Watch List


President’s Club
  • Aug 5, 2021
    The Maxwell Award kicked of the chain of award watch lists to start dropping in July, a telltale sign that the season is not far away. Ohio State was in rare air as a the only school with three players on the watch list for the most valuable player in college football, also known as the Maxwell Award.

    Ohio State quarterback CJ Stroud wide receiver Jaxon Smith-Njigba and running back TreVeyon Henderson were among the list of 85 players, a list that includes 2021 winner Bryce Young along with seven semifinalists.

    The Buckeyes were the only program to have three players make the list while 14 other schools had a pair make the list, including Alabama, Georgia, Michigan State and USC, to name a few.

    Get the full list here

    Ohio State has not produced a Maxwell Award winner since the 1995 season when Eddie George took home the hardware during his Heisman Trophy-winning...

    Continue reading...

    Buckeye Premium

    Become a Buckeye Scoop Premium member to access our private message board.

    Go Premium