Miyan Williams Out, Tyreke Smith Game-Time Decision

COLUMBUS – Redshirt freshman running back Miyan Williams is out this week for the Buckeyes. Williams, who started the first two games for OSU and has rushed for 249 yards this season, also missed last week’s game.

Ohio State has released its availability report for today’s game against Maryland and Williams is the most prominent Buckeye listed as being out this week.

Williams has missed three of the last four games for the Buckeyes. Freshman TreVeyon Henderson secured the starting job following a 270-yard rushing performance in week three against Tulsa, and in the meantime Master Teague and Marcus Crowley have continued to push for playing time.

A new entry on the unavailable list this week is true freshman safety Jantzen Dunn who suffered a significant leg injury last week against Rutgers. Head coach Ryan Day termed it a long-term injury for the talented rookie.

There could be some good news coming for the Buckeyes based on the names listed as possibilities.

Senior defensive end Tyreke Smith, sophomore receiver Julian Fleming, and senior cornerback Demario McCall are all listed as game-time decisions.

Smith has missed the last three games, but would be a welcome addition for an Ohio State pass rush that hasn’t gotten much statistical production from its defensive ends this season.

Fleming, meanwhile, has missed the last two games. He has two receptions for 17 yards this season.

It also appears as though linebacker Palaie Gaoteote will be good to go this week after missing last week as a game-time decision. The Buckeyes have been thin at linebacker this year, especially with the recent departures of Dallas Gant and K’Vaughan Pope to the transfer portal.

Freshman defensive tackle Mike Hall is also returning this week after missing last week. As is redshirt freshman defensive end Darrion Henry-Young.

Here is the full availability report from Ohio State.

Game-Time Decision

WR Julian Fleming
CB Demario McCall
DE Tyreke Smith


WR Kamryn Babb
SAF Jantzen Dunn
DE Tyler Friday
CB Jakailin Johnson
SAF Jaylen Johnson
LB Mitchell Melton
DL Noah Potter
SAF Josh Proctor
K Jake Seibert
RB Miyan Williams