Stroud Doubles Up On B1G Awards Post-MSU

There should be little surprise that the Big Ten honored Ohio State quarterback CJ Stroud with not only its Freshman of the Week award but also its Offensive Player of the Week award. This marks Stroud’s second time winning the offensive player honor and seventh time winning the freshman of the week award.

The Big Ten also award its defensive player honor to Isaiah Gay out of Illinois and its special teams award to Jordan Stout from Penn State.

Stroud led the No. 4 Buckeyes to a 56-7 win over then No. 7 Michigan State on Saturday and in just a little more than a half of action threw for 432 yards on 32-35 passing and six touchdowns. All six touchdowns and much of the action took place in a record-setting first half, a half where the Buckeyes were a perfect seven for seven on drives ending with Ohio State touchdowns and 500 yards of total offense.

Stroud now joins a list of Ohio State quarterbacks with six passing touchdowns in a game but of course, Stroud is the only one to do that in a single half of football. Only eight Big Ten quarterbacks have thrown for six touchdowns in a game since 2013.

The Ohio State quarterback has now become the odds-on favorite in Heisman betting according to several odds makers. Stroud has thrown for 3,468 yards on the season with 36 touchdowns against five interceptions. Stroud has seven games with 300 or more passing yards, four of them with 400 or more passing yards.

On Saturday, Stroud set another record, breaking Ohio State’s single-game consecutive completed pass mark with 17. The mark was held previously by JT Barrett and Justin Fields. Stroud would only have two incompletions in the first half and then would go 3-4 in the third quarter as he played for one offensive series before handing the controls over to Kyle McCord.

It almost seems a foregone conclusion that Stroud will take home the Thompson-Randle El Freshman of the Year award for the Big Ten. Ohio State has not won that award since 2016 when running back Mike Weber garnered that honor.

The Graham-George Offensive Player of the Year award is very much in play, an award that Ohio State knows all too well with the last three awards going to Buckeyes (Justin Fields x2, Dwayne Haskins) and six of the last nine (Braxton Miller x2, Ezekiel Elliott).